Joint Doctorate

The Hebrew University approves the conferring of Joint Doctoral degrees with universities outside of Israel in order to strengthen the internationalization of the Hebrew University and to encourage cooperation with leading universities overseas.

Please see the decision of the Senate of the Hebrew University in relation to Joint Doctorate studies:



 Ph.D.  students of the Hebrew University, for whom the Hebrew University will be the home-institute, will

follow the instructions in the Hebrew version of this chapter on this site.

Joint Doctorate - The HU as the Home institute


Ph.D. students for whom the Hebrew University will be the host institute will follow the instructions below: 

The Ph.D. candidate will submit the following documents:

A request to apply as a Ph.D. student within a Joint Doctorate program, approved and signed also by both potential advisors, each from each of the institutes. The letter will explain the motivation and advantages of joint doctorate studies in the specific case.

Academic information concerning the partners from abroad: the potential advisor, the department and the institute, including reference to the scientific infrastructure available in the partner institute to perform the research.

An official consent of the partner institute to offer studies within a program of a joint doctorate; a template of an agreement for such studies and a contact person to continue negotiations. The information in this section, as well as information concerning the institute in the former section, are not needed in case there is already an agreement in relation to joint doctoral studies between the Hebrew University and a specific partner institute. 

Joint PhD candidateform26-7-22.docx


Joint Doctorate Studies already exist between the Hebrew University and the following Universities:

The Free University of Berlin (FUB) – all fields of study towards Ph.D. in both institutions.

Information on Joint PhD HUJI+FUB.pdf

 The National University of Singapore (NUS) – Medical Research,  Pharmacy, Public Health, Life Sciences. Coordinator:  Professor David Engelberg, Life Sciences Institute.

Nanyang Technological University (NTU)  (Singapore) – Chemistry.  Coordinator: Professor Shlomo Magdassi, The Institute of Chemistry

The University of Melbourne (UoM) - Biomedical Research.